Big Ten Announces Football Preseason Honors

This year’s list is highlighted by nine returning All-Big Ten selections.

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its 2023 football preseason honors on Wednesday, July 26th, ahead of the start of Big Ten Football Media Days at Lucas Oil Stadium. A media panel selected the 10-member preseason list, with five representatives each from the East and West Divisions.

The East Division list highlighted by a pair of returning consensus All-Americans in Michigan’s Blake Corum and Ohio State’s Marvin Harrison Jr. Corum and Harrison Jr. were joined on this year’s preseason East Division squad by Maryland quarterback Taulia Tagovailoa, Wolverine quarterback J.J. McCarthy and Penn State offensive lineman Olumuyiwa Fashanu. 

Michigan RB – Blake Corum – courtesy University of Michigan

Four different schools placed students on the West Division preseason list, led by two representatives from Minnesota in tight end Brevyn Spann-Ford and defensive back Tyler Nubin. They were joined on the list by Illinois defensive lineman Jer’Zhan Newton, Iowa defensive back Cooper DeJean and Wisconsin running back Braelon Allen. 

The 2023 Big Ten preseason honors list features two recipients of conference individual awards from a season ago in Corum who won the Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year. Harrison Jr. was the recipient of the Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year. 

Corum, Harrison Jr., and Newton were also 2022 first-team All-Big Ten selections, joining second-team selections Allen, DeJean, Fashanu, Nubin and Tagovailoa, as well as third-team honoree McCarthy.

compiled from a Big Ten press release