Sports History – December 6

In 1992, Jerry Rice caught his record-setting 101st NFL touchdown pass.

The Heisman Trophy was awarded to Ernie Davis of Syracuse in 1961, Archie Griffin of Ohio State in 1975, and to Vinny Testaverde of Miami in 1986. The other finalists were Paul Palmer from Temple, future Michigan coach Jim Harbaugh, and the popular Brian Bosworth of Oklahoma.